A Smoothie a Day

Hey guys!

Hmm… this post may seem a bit redundant but I promise there is an interesting twist! Tonight I enjoyed another green monster… and it was even better than the first! I made a few adjustments by adding a tablespoon of cocoa and using 1 and 1/2 bananas to make a bit more smoothie goodness. I also put in more spinach, can’t go wrong with extra greens!

I used Penzey’s Dutch Process Cocoa, my mom shipped me a bottle so I could still have my cocoa at school! She is the BOMB.

Penzey’s is an awesome spice company and I highly recommend their products. If you are lucky enough to have a store nearby, try and make a stop sometime (the store smells AMAZING.) If not, they have an online store and you can also order a (free!) catalog, which also comes with some mouth watering recipes.

Because of the cocoa, tonight’s smoothie wasn’t a super bright green. But it was still delish!

Okay, so it looks kind of gross. Honestly though it tasted like something from Dairy Queen! Banana chocolate milkshake anyone?

So thick that my spoon floated on top. 😀 I think I have to invest in a straw so i can drink my smoothie like a normal person!

Alright, so I told you there would be a twist to this post.. and no, it wasn’t the cocoa. Here it is!

I am challenging you, my dear little readers, to Happy Honeycrisp’s Green Monster Challenge! I want you to set a goal that has to do with green monsters and stick to it for 30 days! For me, I’m going to try and have one smoothie every day. If that’s completely unrealistic for you, make it one smoothie per week! Or even just TRY your first monster within the next 30 days. Seriously, what do you have to lose? They are cheap (spinach and bananas? so inexpensive!), fun, TASTY and magnificently wonderful for your body and health!

aaand a green toast to you!

I’ll let you guys know how I’m doing with my challenge and give you support to stick with yours! Also, I’ll let you know all the new versions I try and I’ll be completely honest about how scrumptious (or not) they are.  Feel free to comment if you want to join in and post your goals! I hope you all challenge yourselves to be even more amazing than you already are!

Talk to you soon! Go green!

-Lindsey

12 comments
  1. Estber said:

    Hey! I’ve just found your blog and enjoy reading it, but I have a quickie question for you. Is there a particular reason that you use Dutch-processed cocoa? Do you prefer it? I’ve always avoided it b/c my understanding is that it is less healthy. Dutch cocoa provides less antioxidants than natural cocoa because the alkali process destroys some of the flavanols (the powerful antioxidants found in cocoa).
    Not trying to criticize your choice, just wondering! Thanks!

    • Hey girl! Thanks for commenting and I’m glad you like my blog! To be honest, I never knew that about some of the antioxidants being destroyed in Dutch cocoa, that’s very interesting. I’ve always used it because that’s what my mom always uses, since most of the time we’re using cocoa for baking and the antioxidants aren’t a big concern. I don’t think I’ve even tried natural cocoa, but I read it has a more acidic taste. Have you ever tried it? I’m intrigued now!!

      • I don’t think I’ve ever tried Dutch cocoa, to be honest. But I eat natural cocoa all the time (I basically stir it into everything!) So I don’t know how it tastes compared to Dutch cocoa, but it doesn’t bother me. Maybe I’m just used to the taste, though. My family thinks I’m crazy that I eat so much of it.

      • That’s funny, we are cocoa opposites! 😛 I have to try natural cocoa though, I’m sure it’s delicious!

  2. K. said:

    Wow you are a blogging machine! Challenge accepted! You have convinced me to try one…next time I am near a food processor haha. Do you know how long you can keep them, like in the fridge, or do you need to make them fresh? Well anyways the cocoa one sounds like exactly what I want right now haha.

    I like how you always include a picture of yourself enjoying your concoctions, it makes them look tasty 🙂

      • Gina said:

        Me too — I’m going to make one today! About keeping the smoothie in the frig — Janet McKee told us that she will often make enough for two breakfast servings, and keep the 2nd day serving in the frig in a sealed container. She said that probably some of the nutrients will be lost, but not too much if you are just keeping it overnight. P.S. I found your yarn needles!

      • Please let me know how your smoothie goes!! That’s interesting that some of the nutrients are lost but that’s good you can store them. Too bad my food processor is hardly big enough for one smoothie haha!

  3. B said:

    Wow! Your Mom sounds really nice.

  4. Kristin said:

    I am up for the challenge! I want to have at least one smoothie this week. Can I use your blender? 🙂

    • Yay that sounds like an awesome goal!! Of course you can use my blender! You can try some of my green smoothie and you’ll see how tasty and non-spinachy it is!! 😀

Leave a Reply

