Good Afternoon!

Good afternoon pumpkins!

Today I’m going to be talking about my favorite fruit! APPLES. My one true love is the Honeycrisp. I love their ironic tart sweetness and I love how they are always crisp! If there is one thing I can’t stand about apples it is when they are mushy and mealy. However, on my last trip to the grocery store, I discovered the Honeycrisps to be tiny, bruised and sad.

No way was I spending $1.98 a pound on those little buggers, even if they are my favorite.Ā  Alas, I had to find a new apple! I stumbled upon Sonya apples, and become intrigued as I had never heard of/seen them before.Ā  Being the obsessive apple freak that I am, I whipped out my iPhone and googled “Sonya Apples.” This is what I found:

“Sonya’s other distinctive feature is its exceptional sweetness – which is what you would expect from an apple which is related to both Golden Delicious and Red Delicious. The flavour is strongly reminiscent of raw sugar cane, and there is no trace of acidity whatsover.”

Source

Sweet apple reminiscent of raw sugar cane? Bring. It. On.

So, today I tried my first Sonya Apple!

What did I think? My oh my was it tasty!!Ā  I hadn’t eaten for several hours and was ravenous by the time I got my hands on that thing so I was very satisfied with the flava! Honeycrisps are still my favorite but Sonyas may now be my second favorite!

Smeared with some Justin’s Maple Almond Butter, these apples are delicious!

To round out my snackity-snack I had some plain greek yogurt with cinnamon and stevia. If you have never tried this combination, you must! It is too tasty for words!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Lindsey

Food for thought:

What’s your favorite type of apple?

How do you like to eat greek yogurt?

7 comments
  1. Kristin said:

    My favorite type of apples are the green, sour ones! (What are those called? hahaha). And I’ve never had greek yogurt…I will steal a spoonful of yours soon because it sounds yummy! I’m glad you had a good snackity-snack, it sounds delicious! I can’t wait to read your future blogs to come…something to look forward to! šŸ™‚

    • Granny Smith? I don’t know that is the opposite of me! I like those ones in pies though yum! Yay I am so glad you like my blog thank you for commenting šŸ˜€

  2. Gina said:

    There are so many apple varieties that don’t usually show up in supermarkets — heirloom varieties with complex flavors and textures. You can sometimes find these at farmer’s markets — and, since some apple varieties can keep well into the winter, some of these may be available now at indoor farmer’s markets. Keep your eyes peeled — you may find another new favorite next time you’re at the North Market!
    I’m so glad you’ve started a blog — it’ll be fun to keep up with your food discoveries!

    • Oh that is a good point! The Sonya apple was rather one-dimensional. It was delicious, but not very complex. I didn’t know that some varieties keep well into the winter though, so I will keep my eyes open for interesting apples! I am glad you like the blog! Thank you for the comment šŸ™‚

  3. K. said:

    My favorite type of apple is Dumpling
    I like my Greek yogurt covered in honey and with a spoon in it
    And my favorite blog is this one!

    Also can you bake apples in the microwave? I guess I would have to go buy apples, and butter, and cinnamon, and an actual knife…might as well just buy an oven too

    • Haha! I like apple dumplings too! Greek yogurt with honey is also very good, you should try putting some cinnamon on top šŸ™‚

      I looked it up online, and you can bake apples in the microwave. For about 3-5 minutes but poke it after 3 minutes to see how it is doing. I think you could use honey, that might be delicious! Maybe with a little bit of cinnamon too!

      • K. said:

        Ahaa!!! I may never eat anything else!!

Leave a Reply

